Robot Love Story

By Bobby Semelsberger

This is the story about a lonely professor who only wanted a friend. Growing up Professor Jenkins never had many friends. No kid ever wanted to talk to him since the day in fourth grade when he cloned his own gecko, and was labeled a nerd for life. Jenkins entered college at the age of 12, but once again couldn’t make any friends because he wasn’t allowed into any of the college raves. Once Professor Jenkins became a full-fledged professor, he began to work on a series of projects ranging from the highly acclaimed toaster pants to the award winning heat cubes (like ice cubes, but the opposite). Even after the two Nobel prizes, 12 science education awards, and his Grammy award for his work re-mixing a Madonna music video, Jenkins was lonely. He was so lonely that one day he decided to put his large brain to the test and created a robot best friend. M.A.C. was the bestest friend a master scientist could have built, but maybe that was more of a curse than Jenkins bargained for.

3 Years Later:

Jenkins was lost in a deep slumber when he heard a loud buzzing noise. Jenkins eyes slowly opened and he shook his head. He slowly rolled over to see M.A.C. lying next to him in bed.

M.A.C.: Good morning, Professor.

Jenkins: M.A.C. you’re in my bed again. We talked about this. What did I tell you?

M.A.C.: Don’t jump into your bed with you because its creepy and the buzzing of my servos wake you up. I’m sorry, Professor, you just smell so good.

Jenkins: You don’t have a nose, M.A.C.

M.A.C.: But I imagine you smell like hazel nuts.

Jenkins rolled to the opposite direction and flopped out of bed.

M.A.C.: What are we going to do today, best friend?

Jenkins: I left my briefcase at the lab the other night, so I have to drive over and grab it.

M.A.C.: Do you want me to come with you? We could play punch-buggy on the way up and on the way back you work the gas pedals while I sit on your lap and steer the car, that would be a righteous good time.

Jenkins: That’s not as fun as you think; you’re made out of steel. I’m just going to drive up there alone. Can you pour me a cup of coffee?

M.A.C.’s chest pieces separated and a mug of steaming coffee slide out.

Jenkins: Thank you.

Jenkins took a sip and immediately spit it out.

Jenkins: YUCKKK. What type of coffee is this?

M.A.C.: That is a decaffeinated brew with a hint of goat milk, its healthier.

Jenkins: Why did I program you with that nutrition chart? I’ll grab a cup of coffee on the way.

Jenkins exited the bedroom and entered the hallway as M.A.C. closely followed behind.

M.A.C.: Can we play mini golf when you come back?

Jenkins: I don’t think so, M.A.C.

M.A.C.: Come on lets play mini golf; it’s like real golf but actually fun, plus there’s a clowns mouth we get to shoot into. Come on, come on, come on, come on, come on, come on, come on, come on….

Jenkins: Fine, M.A.C. we’ll play mini golf for the sixth day in a row. Can I leave now?

M.A.C.: I’ll be waiting by the door until you get back, best buddy in the whole world.

Jenkins threw M.A.C. a fake smile, but he was truly creeped out. Jenkins stopped at the end of the hallway and pressed a big red button on the wall. A section of the floor beneath him quickly slid open and Jenkins dropped down through the floor into the garage directly into the driver’s seat of his red BMW.

Jenkins: Voice recognition software, activate. Automatic driver, drive to laboratory.

Voice Recognition Software: Yes, professor.

Jenkins laid back in his seat as the BMW drove itself out of the garage and onto the street. After a calm drive to the lab, Jenkins entered the facility and walked down an empty corridor towards his office when a beautiful woman exited one of the rooms into the corridor. Jenkins had not seen a woman so beautiful since he was ten and fell in love with the pink power ranger. The woman began to walk his direction and Jenkins broke out in a nervous sweat. He leaped behind a trashcan. She stopped next to the trashcan where she could clearly see Jenkins crouched.

Woman: What are you doing down there?

Jenkins: I thought I dropped my keys but you know what they’re in my pocket.

Jenkins stood up looking eye to eye with this magical goddess. He couldn’t think of anything to say so he just stared at her with his mouth open.

Woman: I’m Jennie Turnerberg.

Jenkins: Professor Jenkins, I’m a scientist.

Jennie: Yes, I determined that from the “professor” title.

Jenkins: Of course.

Jennie: I’m Dr. Simmons’s new assistant. I just started 3 days ago.

Jenkins: I’m like 50 times smarter than Simmons. Just saying.

Jennie: Oh.

Jenkins: I mean how are you enjoying the laboratory, so far?

Jennie: Oh it’s great. You’re actually one the first people I’ve met.

Jenkins: Well I’m glad I bumped into you than.

Jennie: I have to go, but it was great meeting you Professor Jenkins.

Jenkins: Yeah it was lovely to see you. I mean great to meet you, Jen. I mean Jennifer. No, it’s Jennie, right? Jennie is what I meant.

Jennie: Okay then, goodbye.

Jennie skipped up the stairs.

Jenkins: What did I just say?

Jenkins slammed his head against the wall.

Jenkins arrived home with his briefcase in hand. As he entered the house, M.A.C. was frozen staring at the door. All of a sudden, M.A.C. jumped to life once he saw Jenkins.

M.A.C.: I’m so glad you’re back, pal. That felt like it was forever.

Jenkins: I don’t really feel like mini golf right now M.A.C. well play later.

M.A.C.: What’s wrong.

Jenkins: I don’t want to talk about it.

Jenkins slumped into the kitchen and fell into one of the chairs. M.A.C. ran into the kitchen after Jenkins.

M.A.C.: Are you sick or something. Do you want me to carry you to the hospital?

Jenkins: No, M.A.C. I just want to be alone right now.

M.A.C.: Alone? But I thought I was created so you didn’t have to be alone.

Jenkins: Well sometimes I just choose to be alone and this one of those times.

M.A.C.: I’ll wait outside the kitchen for you.

M.A.C. walked just outside the kitchen, turned and stared at Jenkins sobbing at the kitchen table. Jenkins looked over at M.A.C.

Jenkins: M.A.C. now you’re just staring at me and it’s freaky. Can you just hide behind the wall?

M.A.C.: Yes, wall.

M.A.C. gave him a thumb’s up and glided behind the wall, out of sight.

Jenkins mind was frozen on images of Jennie. He was upset because once again in his life he came across as a nerd.

The next day, in Jenkins office, Jenkins and a few of his colleagues, including Dr. Simmons, were researching the blueprints to a nuclear fusion power core, which could make enough power to light a whole city.

Jenkins: We need to make sure this power core has a stable fusion reaction, and these blueprints are not reassuring to me.

Dr. Chiko: Professor we’re examining this piece by piece. We know the consequences of the slightest miscalculation.

Dr. Simmons: Come on, Jenkins take a chill pill we all know what we’re doing.

Jennie entered Jenkin’s office. Jenkins saw her and decided to try and show off how much power he had.

Jenkins: No Dr. Simmons, I will not take a chill pill because those do not exist, but might be a good future project for this company. Now listen to me you Jerk-face, I’m the head of this nuclear fusion project and it’s my duty to make sure everyone is doing their jobs correctly and efficiently. You understand me?

Simmons: Yeah I got it, sheesh!

Jenkins: Oh Jennie, I didn’t see you come in.

Jennie: Oh I just needed to tell Dr. Simmons that his car is getting towed.

Simmons: Crap, I park in the handicap parking spot for 3 years and now the law catches up to me. The day I got groceries in the trunk.

Simmons ran out the door.

Jenkins: On that note this meeting has come to a close. Back to work.

The rest of the scientists in the room inched passed Jennie to leave the office.

Jennie: This is a nice office. You have a great view of the parking lot.

Jenkins: Yeah it’s pretty nice. (Looks out the window) There’s your boss.

Simmons was out in the parking lot running after the tow truck that was towing his shiny new Porsche.

Jennie: So I’ll leave you to your work.

Jenkins: (Jumping out from behind his desk) DON’T LEAVE!

Jennie: What was that?

Jenkins: I mean I have something really cool I want to show you. (Looked up to the ceiling) LIGHTS.

Voice Recognition Software: Yes, Professor.

The lights in the office shut off just as Jenkins picked up a pen looking devise. Light still shinned outside the window.

Jennie: What is that?

Jenkins: Just hold on a seconds.

Jenkins placed the devise up against the window. A burst of multi- colored light shot out of the top of the devise, lighting the whole room with the colors of the rainbow.

Jennie: Wow, it’s so beautiful. What is it?

Jenkins: It’s a Pro-Crafter. It can trap the light coming in from outside the window and hits a set of microscopic crystals inside the lens creating an array of colors.

Jennie: Like a rainbow flashlight.

Jenkins: I guess.

Jennie: You made that?

Jenkins: Yes.

Jennie: Very impressive, Professor. I better get back to my desk.

Jenkins: Oh okay. Yeah time to work.

Jennie: This was awesome. I hope I’ll see you later.

Jenkins: I will catch you around the job site or I’ll catch you on another time.

She giggled at him and left the office.

Jenkins: What did I just say?

Jenkins slammed his head against the top of his desk.

Jenkins arrived home from work, threw his briefcase on the counter, and dove on to his couch. M.A.C. appeared out of nowhere and bounced onto the couch beside Jenkins.

M.A.C.: Hey Professor, what do you wanna do tonight? Do you just want to hang or can we go out? You know what I did today? I watched a worm slither from the front yard to the back yard. It took like 6 hours but it was enjoyable to watch. You wanna catch a movie, pal?

Jenkins let out a deep breath, but M.A.C. was anxious for an answer.

Jenkins: Fine we can go to the movies, but no talking even during the coming attractions.

M.A.C.: But how will you know my opinions on movies solely based on their previews appeal?

Jenkins: I will just have to suffer without them.

M.A.C.: Lets hit it!

M.A.C. waited in the center of the movie theater, rocking back and forth when Jenkins approached him holding a bucket of popcorn in his hands.

Jenkins: I got the popcorn.

M.A.C.: Extra butter, I hope.

Jenkins: You can’t even taste it!

M.A.C.: Why do you think everyone always stares at me?

Jenkins: It really could be anything, but it’s probably the fact that many of people are not used to seeing a six and half-foot robot in the middle of a movie theater lobby.

M.A.C.: You know what, that might be it, Professor. Come on lets go get good seats.

Jenkins: Yeah, we’re in theater 4 which I think is down the hall to the…

Then just as Jenkins peered down the hall he saw Jennie laughing with a group of her friends, with the light hitting her in a way to make her look like an angel.

Jenkins: Oh no she’s here.

M.A.C.: What? Who is?

Jenkins: There she is, I can’t let her see me.

Jenkins hid behind M.A.C.

M.A.C.: What’s wrong? Who is that?

Jenkins poked his head out from around M.A.C.’s bulky arm. Jennie looked over and realized Professor Jenkins was the creeper hiding behind the robot. She began to walk his direction.

Jenkins: Ohhhh butt! She’s walking this way. She can’t see me. No wait she can’t see you.

M.A.C.: Why not? I’ll be polite.

Jenkins: You don’t understand, guys who build robot for friends aren’t seen as sexy.

M.A.C.: What are you talking about?

Jenkins: Sorry, but I have to do this.

Jenkins popped open M.A.C.’s back flap and among the many switches and buttons, he flipped off the power source. M.A.C.’s lights flashed off and his head leaned forward. Jennie stopped in front of M.A.C.

Jennie: Hey, Professor.

Jenkins leaped out from behind the lifeless M.A.C.

Jenkins: Hey, Jennie. I thought that was you. What are you doing here?

Jennie: At the movie theater? Seeing a movie.

Jenkins: Of course I know that, I’m a scientist. You want some popcorn?

Jennie: Are you here alone?

Jenkins: Yes, all by myself.

Jennie: What is this thing? (She points to M.A.C.)

Jenkins: You know what? I have no idea what this is. I think it’s a movie promotion or something.

Jennie: So I’m glad to see you out of the office for once.

Jenkins: I do have social life, Jennie.

Jennie: I know. Are you going to theater 4?

Jenkins: That is exactly where I’m going.

Jennie: Well since you’re here alone, do you want to sit with my friends and me?

Jenkins saw an open opportunity to technically go out with Jennie without actually going out with Jennie.

Jenkins: That sounds lovely.

All of sudden, M.A.C.’s lights flashed on and his head rose.

M.A.C.: Professor you must have accidentally shut of my power source. Luckily you created a way for me to override it or I could have been out for the next few hours.

Jennie jumped back as M.A.C. came to life. Jenkins attempted to ignore M.A.C. but M.A.C. waved his hands in front of Jenkins face. Jennie

M.A.C.: Hey Professor, we’re gonna be late for the movie.

Jennie: Professor, do you know that thing.

Jenkins: Ummmmmm… what?

M.A.C.: (To Jennie) Nice to meet you I’m M.A.C. The Professor’s best friend. Built 3 years, 4 months, 12 days, and 4 hours ago to this day.

Jennie: Hello there. I’m Jennie.

M.A.C.: Well that’s a nice name.

Jenkins was speechless.

Jennie: Well I’ll see you later Professor.

Jennie quickly sped to her theater. Jenkins spun around and punched M.A.C. in his huge metallic arm.

Jenkins: Why can’t you just be like R2-D2 and speak through a series of beeps?

M.A.C.: Well you programmed my speech patterns.

Jenkins: That was rhetorical. Just shut up.

Jenkins shoved the bucket of popcorn into M.A.C.’s arms and walked into theater 4.

Inside the theater, Jenkins stared down a few rows ahead of him to where Jennie was seated. Just as Jenkins was trying to think of a plan to make him come across as cool, M.A.C. was producing a loud vacuum sound when he sucked up the popcorn through a hole in the side of his head. Everyone in the theater turned and looked at Jenkins and M.A.C.

Audience member: Could you keep it down?

Jenkins: I’m sorry that’s how he eats.

Audience member: It’s a he?

Groups of people scooted away from the duo as the vacuum sound got louder. Jenkins just dipped his head back and attempted to ignore everyone around him.

The next afternoon in the cafeteria of the laboratories, Jenkins sat at a table with Dr. Simmons discussing the nuclear fusion power source.

Simmons: We should be done early next week.

Jenkins: Are you sure that the nuclear reactor is…

Simmons: Its stable, Jenkins. You need to stop worrying.

Jenkins: You know the president of the laboratory, Arnold J. Feferman, wants to hold a whole ceremony for the introduction to this nuclear fusion power source, I just want to make sure everything is perfect.

Simmons: Everything will be fine, Jenkins.

Then Jennie walked over and kneeled down next to Dr. Simmons.

Jennie: Your son’s on the phone, he got his arm stuck in a beehive.

Simmons: I love that kid but he’s dumber than a bag of sand.

Simmons got up from his desk with his tray of food and left the cafeteria. Jennie glanced down at Jenkins, about to walk away when Jenkins felt the urge to stop her.

Jenkins: Jennie about last night. I can explain the robot.

Jennie: Yeah, what was that?

Jenkins: That’s M.A.C. He’s a robot I built a few years ago.

Jennie: Why?

Jenkins: I’m kind of lonely so I built a robot to lighten my spirits. But after three years I’m starting to find him a little clingy.

Jennie: So you built your own robot best friend?

Jenkins: I know that’s weird.

Jennie: No, that’s so cool. I’ve never met anyone in my entire life that’s built their own robot. That’s not weird, that’s amazing.

Jenkins: Your kidding?

Jennie was the not the first person to call Jenkins “amazing” but she was the first to think building a robot best friend was “cool”. Jenkins once again saw an open opportunity to, so this time decided to take it.

Jenkins: DO YOU WANT TO GO OUT ON A DATE LATER OR MAYBE GRAB SOME PIE OR SOMETHING?

Jennie: Why are you screaming?

Jenkins: BECAUSE I’M NERVOUS.

Jennie: What was the question?

Jenkins: Are you really gonna make me repeat it? Will you please go out on a date with me?

Jennie stroked her chin while simultaneously looked him up and down.

Jennie: Okay, I’ll go out on a date with you.

Jenkins: You’re kidding?

Jennie: Say Friday night.

Jenkins: You’re kidding? I mean that sounds great.

Jennie: See you then.

Jennie left the cafeteria.

Jenkins: Wow, a date. I’ve never been on a date.

Jenkins face became flushed and he passed out on the ground.

Friday night approached quickly, Jenkins exited his bedroom wearing his fanciest bow tie and sweater vest. M.A.C. quickly ran down the hall towards Jenkins.

M.A.C.: Do you know what would be fun, if we went ice-skating?

Jenkins: We got kicked out of the ice-skating rink last year, M.A.C. Why was that?

M.A.C.: Because I broke the ice.

Jenkins: You broke the ice!

M.A.C.: Well I had good reason. I was landing my double back flip.

Jenkins: I can’t go out with you tonight anyway, M.A.C. I got a date.

M.A.C.: A date with whom?

Jenkins: That woman from the movies the other day.

M.A.C.: Her? Don’t go out with her she has a lumpy face. Stay here with me.

Jenkins: I’m sorry pal but I’m going out. I’ll see you later tonight.

Jenkins passed by M.A.C. and continued to the end of the hallway where he pressed the big red button, the floor underneath him slid open and he fell in to his B.M.W.

M.A.C’s big robot eyes turned from their normal bluish hue to bright red.

M.A.C.: Leaving me to go out with someone else? I don’t think so.

The full moon brightly glowed down upon Jenkins and Jennie who strolled through the town square. Jenkins was trying to explain the nuclear fusion power source project to Jennie.

Jenkins: Just imagine one ball of energy, no bigger than basketball that if concentrated could supply the whole city of New York with enough power for ten years.

Jennie: And this is the project everyone’s making such a big deal about?

Jenkins: It could change the world. The president of the labs is creating this whole ceremony for its introduction, a week from now. It sounds really nerdy, doesn’t it?

Jennie: I find it fascinating. You make it sound really interesting.

Jenkins: Well thanks it’s interesting to me.

Jennie: Jenkins, can I ask you a question?

Jenkins: Any question you want. I know a lot.

Jennie: Is this your first date?

Jenkins: What? No, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no…. yep.

Jennie: Yeah I saw you pass out in the cafeteria.

Jenkins: You saw that?

Jennie: I’m glad I’m your first date, and then I have no one to compete with.

Jenkins: Yep this is defiantly one of my top five best dates ever.

Jennie looked over at the end of the town square and spotted an ice-skating rink.

Jennie: Lets go ice-skating!

Jenkins: I don’t know if we should.

Jennie: Why, you seem scared all of a sudden.

Jenkins: No, not scared.

Jenkins look around as if M.A.C. might be watching him from afar.

Jenkins: Okay lets go skating.

Jennie grabbed Jenkins hand and led him to the skating rink. But behind the bushes, M.A.C. was in indeed watching Jenkins from afar.

M.A.C. (To himself): Is he going ice-skating with her? They only just met. My artificial heart is breaking!

Jenkins arrived home 20 minutes to midnight. Jenkins had a goofy smile stuck on his face as he danced around the living room. M.A.C. walked into the living room from his bedroom.

Jenkins: Hey M.A.C. I thought you would be asleep.

M.A.C.: No, I’m very wide-awake. It’s almost midnight Professor, pretty late to be out for someone like you.

Jenkins: Well I just had the best night with Jennie. We talked all night long and it was great.

M.A.C.: You talked? Is that it? Or did you in fact go ice-skating?

Jenkins: What are you talking about?

M.A.C.: You went ice-skating with that girl and not with me!

Jenkins: How would you know?

M.A.C.: Because I followed you to the ice-skating rink!

Jenkins: You followed me? It’s like 6 miles.

M.A.C.: I ran there. I’m a robot I don’t get tired.

Jenkins: I keep forgetting that.

M.A.C.: I want you to stop seeing this girl.

Jenkins: No way.

M.A.C.: I’m your best friend and I decide whom you can date. Date that woman who plays the violin in the subway.

Jenkins: The woman with the folded up ear like a fortune cookie? No, I want to date Jennie and that’s final. You get no say in this matter, M.A.C. Now go to bed.

M.A.C. turned and headed into his bedroom.

That Monday at the labs, Jenkins was walking down the corridor when Jennie jumped out in front of him.

Jennie: Had a great time on Friday.

Jenkins: I did as well. Do you want to press our luck on a second date?

Jennie: Where do want to go? Do want to go to a shooting range?

Jenkins: If I even touch a gun there’s a 75% chance I could throw up.

Jennie: Then where do want to go?

Jenkins: Be my date for the nuclear fusion ceremony this week.

Jennie: That feels more like work.

Jenkins: No way, we can totally party. All I have to do is get on stage and introduce the nuclear fusion power source, but after that I’m all yours for the rest of the night.

Jennie: All right I’ll go with you. Now I have to go pick up Dr. Simmons leather pants from the polisher.

Jenkins: Simmons had leather pants? That guy is such a weirdo!

Jennie left Jenkins and rounded the corner when she immediately bumped into M.A.C. who was towering over her.

Jennie: Hey, aren’t you Jenkins’s robot?

M.A.C.: You better listen Little Missy. I’m the Professor’s best friend and you’re nothing but another notch on the belt, so you better leave him alone or I’m gonna come back here, angry and you wont like me when I’m angry.

Jenkins rounded the corner reading a document when he noticed M.A.C.’s robotic feet.

Jenkins: M.A.C.? What are you doing here?

M.A.C.: Just telling your girlfriend her rightful place.

Jennie: My place?

Jenkins: M.A.C., we already talked about this, you don’t make my decisions.

M.A.C.: You programmed me to watch your back and that’s what I’m doing, Professor.

Jennie: What have I done wrong?

M.A.C.: What have you done right?

Jenkins: M.A.C. you need to go home.

M.A.C.: I’ll go home, but when I do I’m gonna do the laundry with no detergent. Try to deal with that, Professor.

M.A.C. punched the wall and backed up into the elevator.

Jenkins: I am so sorry, Jennie.

Jennie: You know this might be too much for me.

Jenkins: No, no, no not too much! It’s just enough.

Jennie: I don’t want to be looking over my shoulder for a robot for the rest of my life.

Jenkins: I already do that and it isn’t so bad.

Jennie: I’m sorry; Jenkins but I can’t see you with all this drama.

Jennie backed away from Jenkins into Dr. Simmons office. Jenkins felt like his heart had just been blown up with an explosive ninja star. Jenkins fell down to his knees.

Jenkins (To the heavens): MACCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC…

That night, Jenkins burst in his front door and scanned the room for M.A.C.

Jenkins: WHERE ARE YOU?

Jenkins heard a vacuuming sound coming from the kitchen. M.A.C. was sitting in the kitchen feeding himself grapes through that hole in the top of his head.

Jenkins: She broke up with me.

M.A.C.: The lady in the subway is still available!

Jenkins: No M.A.C. I really liked her and you ruined it for me. Just like you ruined my puppy.

M.A.C.: I didn’t try to sit on it.

Jenkins: I’ve finally come to terms with the idea that building you was a mistake.

M.A.C.: How could you say that?

Jenkins: I’m shutting you off.

M.A.C.: You speaking crazy, Doc.

Jenkins ran behind M.A.C. and threw open his back panel.

M.A.C.: LETS TALK THIS OVER WITH SOME TEA! PROFESSOR? PROFESSOR?

Jenkins: Too late, M.A.C.

Jenkins grabbed a glass full of water and poured it down M.A.C.’s control panel. Sparks flew from M.A.C.’s back. M.A.C.’s lights shut off and his body slammed to the floor like a support beam falling 10 stories on a construction site. Jenkins attempted to move M.A.C.’s body it weighed close to 400 pounds. Jenkins just decided to leave M.A.C. lying on the floor. Motionless. Lifeless. Dead.

The night of the ceremony had arrived, Jenkins was looking quite dapper in a black tuxedo, but on the inside Jenkins was an emotional wreck. He was hoping that that Jennie might still show up, so he kept looking out from the stage at the crowd. The large crowd started to applaud as the president of laboratory, Arnold J. Feferman, approached the podium in the center of the stage.

Arnold: Welcome everyone to the unveiling of the new nuclear fusion power source. My colleagues have been working for the last 5 years trying to perfect this science project and I’m glad to say that the work has to seem to pay off.

Jenkins was peaking his head out from a curtain to the side of the stage. He scanned the wave of people when he spotted Jennie, alone in the back of the crowd.

Jenkins: She came!

Then Jenkins over heard the president say his name.

Arnold: Here is our lead scientist behind this project, Professor Jenkins.

The crowd let out roar of applause, as Jenkins walked out on the stage. The applause died down once Jenkins reached the podium.

Jenkins: Hello everyone. I’m not good speaking in front of crowds; public speaking makes me so nervous sometimes I start to cry. I have no idea why I just said that, but anyway I just want to say that I’m very proud of everyone who helped make this happen. I want to especially want to thank my colleagues Dr. Chiko, Professor Matthews, and Dr. Simmons…

Dr. Simmons was located in the center of the crowd holding two glasses of champagne.

Dr. Simmons: OH YEAHHH!!!

Jenkins: All right then, I hope you have a ride home.

At that exact moment in Jenkins house, the corpse of M.A.C. lay still on the floor when all of a sudden his lights flickered on. He slowly raised his head up.

Back at the ceremony, Jenkins was coming to a close to his speech.

Jenkins: I also want to make clear that even though the power source is nuclear it is being contained in such a way that it should not be hazardous to your health. So now I am proud to present the nuclear fusion power source.

Jenkins stepped aside while two stagehands wheeled out a metal sphere resting on a cart to center stage. One of the stagehands flipped on a switch located at the bottom of the sphere. The sphere then glowed yellow and a basketball sized ball of fire materialized above the sphere. The ball was hovering above the sphere as if the forces of nature held it there.

Jenkins: And we have a stable fusion reaction.

The crowd let out an enormous cheer. Jenkins quickly turned to see if Jennie was cheering, but she was instead turned around the other direction looking for an exit. Jenkins with the desire to win her back leaped off the corner of the stage and pushed his way through the crowd of partygoers.

Jenkins: JENNIE, JENNIE WAIT!

Jennie recognized the voice and decided to stop walking.

Jenkins: Hey Jennie.

Jennie: I’m about to leave, Jenkins. I don’t want to get beat up by a robot.

Jenkins: You don’t have to worry about that anymore. I destroyed the robot.

Jennie: You what?

Jenkins: I destroyed M.A.C.

Jennie: Why did you do that? Now I feel like awful jerk.

Jenkins: No you’re not.

Jennie: I made you destroy your robot best friend. That robot was pretty cool. It probably took forever to build.

Jenkins: It took approximately 110 days, 15 hours, 42 minutes and 26 seconds to complete, but even with every chart, list, map, graph, and book I programmed in to M.A.C. he never once equaled up to you. You’re better than anything I could ever built because you’re real.

Jennie: Have you been practicing this speech?

Jenkins: I rehearsed in front of my bathroom mirror last night.

Jennie: You destroyed your robot for me? That’s really sweet in a really twisted way.

Jenkins: That’s what I was going for.

Just as the two were about to embrace, Jenkins was lifted up in the air by M.A.C.

M.A.C.: Why did you pour water on my control panel, Professor?

Jenkins: How are you still alive?

M.A.C.: I guess you built me better than you thought.

Jennie: Put him down!

M.A.C.: Shut your face, Little Lady. (To Jenkins) You created me to be your best friend and I was a great best friend, but for some insane reason you decided I’m not good enough and kicked me to the curb. Why Professor?

Jenkins: You were a wonderful best friend, M.A.C. but sometimes humans want to spend time with other humans.

M.A.C. dropped Jenkins to the ground.

M.A.C.: So our friendship is terminated?

Jenkins: I guess so.

M.A.C.: Then I’m sorry I failed you, Professor. I never meant to hurt anyone. My only goal was to try and be the greatest best friend ever built.

Then just as M.A.C. turned to mope away the nuclear fusion power source started to erupt. The basketball-sized fireball began to expand to a greater size, shooting out smaller balls of fire from its core. A stampede of partygoers charged towards the exits as the power source continued to slowly grow in size.

Jennie: What’s happening?

Jenkins: The power source is unstable.

Dr. Simmons grabbed Jenkins by the collar.

Simmons: What is this, Jenkins?

Jenkins: I told you the project had to be securely examined or the consequences could be catastrophic.

Simmons: I have no memory of you saying any such thing. How do we shut it off?

Jenkins: Someone needs to manually shut it off by dismantling the sphere.

Simmons: That area is kind of surrounded in a giant fireball right now.

Jenkins: I KNOW, SIMMONS!

Simmons: Well… Good luck with that!

Simmons pushed past Jennie and dove into the bushes behind them.

Then one of the balls of fires shot out in Jenkins and Jennie’s directions. Before the two had time to react M.A.C. jumped in front of them and took the fireball to the back.

Jenkins: What are you doing?

M.A.C.: I’m doing what you programmed me to do, protect my best friend. Now you two have to get out of here!

Jenkins: No, I have to shut the power source down.

M.A.C.: My statistics reading shows a 16% chance of survival.

Jennie: M.A.C.’s right, Jenkins. You can’t go in that fireball its to dangerous.

M.A.C.: I can shut it off.

Jenkins: What?

M.A.C. I’ll be able to reach the sphere’s control panel before the nuclear fusion can completely disintegrate my armor.

Jenkins: Are you sure that’s what you want?

M.A.C.: I want to protect my best friend.

Jenkins: Thanks, buddy.

M.A.C.: Knuckle bump?

M.A.C. lifted out his metallic fist. Jenkins smiled and touched his smaller fist to his.

M.A.C.:(To Jennie) Take care of him.

Jennie: I will.

M.A.C.: Showtime.

M.A.C. turned around and bolted into the ball of fire toward the burning stage. As M.A.C. ran through the ball his metal body began to break down. M.A.C. reached the sphere in the core of the ball and ripped out its wiring just as he started to disintegrate. The ball of fire disappeared in a flash of light. Jenkins and Jennie walked out from behind a table they were hiding behind.

Jennie: This has been a pretty great date.

Jenkins: Is this a date? I don’t want to count this one.

Jenkins looked around the area to see everything burned or disintegrated.

Jenkins: Do you think I’ll be fired for this?

Professor Jenkins was indeed fired, but Jenkins could care less about whether he had a job or not because for the first time in his life he was in love. And this wasn’t fake love programmed into a cybertronic appliance this was real love with a real live woman. But Jenkins did land back on his feet several months later, he created his own business where he sells and manufactures a wide variety of Pro-Crafters or as Jennie so simply puts it “rainbow flashlights.” Jenkins and Jennie wed some time after that and settled down in a lovely suburban home with their three kids and robotic cat (since Jenkins is allergic to real cats). That concludes the story of the lonely professor who decided to build his own best friend.

Leave a comment